## **Press Release**

## YOSEMITE COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT Modesto Junior College & Columbia College

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE -

**Date:** April 30, 2008

Contact: Nick Stavrianoudakis, Director of External Affairs: (209)575-6959, <a href="mailto:stavrianoudakisn@yosemite.edu">stavrianoudakisn@yosemite.edu</a>

## YCCD Chancellor Elected to Statewide CEO Post

MODESTO, CA – The Community College League of California (CCLC) recently announced Dr. Roe Darnell, Yosemite Community College District Chancellor was the newly elected CEO representative for Area 3 of the Chief Executive Officers of the California Community Colleges (CEOCCC) board. His three-year term will begin in June 2008.

Area 3 consists of eight districts (Yosemite, San Joaquin Delta, Merced, State Center, Sequoias, West Hills, Kern and West Kern CCD's) and 13 colleges. Dr. Darnell responded that "I am pleased to be identified as a representative for the central valley community colleges. These colleges are unique in the communities they serve and the challenges they face." He added "Community colleges in California are vital to the state's economic well being. With the budgetary challenges facing our state and our community I am pleased to be part of an organization that will work with the state to improve our economy."

The CCLC is a nonprofit public benefit corporation whose voluntary membership consists of 72 local community college districts in California, including the Yosemite Community College District. Within the League are two major organizations which share a common mission, staff and fiscal resources: the California Community College Trustees (CCCT) and the Chief Executive Officers of the California Community Colleges (CEOCCC).

The CEOCCC has a 16-member board of directors elected by the local community college chancellors, superintendents and presidents. These boards of the League meet approximately six times a year. At those meetings action is taken on education policy issues before the state Board of Governors and the legislature. Policy direction also is provided to staff concerning statewide educational policy, research initiatives, publications, workshops, and conferences.

Others recently elected to serve include:

Area 1	Diana Van Der Ploeg, Butte-Glenn CCD
Area 3	Roe Darnell, Yosemite CCD
Area 5	Frank Chong, Laney College/Peralta CCD
Area 6	José Ortiz, Allan Hancock Joint CCD
Area 7	Linda Spink, Los Angeles Harbor College/ Los Angeles CCD
Area 9	Clifford Brock, Barstow CCD